Kiev became part of the Great Lithuanian princedom after the Battle near Blue Waters, it happened in 1362.Kiev in the XIV century
Kiev became part of the Great Lithuanian princedom after the Battle near Blue Waters, it happened in 1362. The process of becoming a part of another state was painless for Kiev: at that time, Vladimir Olgerdovich became prince of Kiev and his government policy was peaceful and diplomatic. However, he ruled for 32 years and in 1394 Skirgalo Olgerdovich took power. Vicegerency established in Kiev after his death. At the end of XIV - early XV century Kiev became the political center: here were held talks by Lithuanian, Polish, and Muscovite princes and metropolitans.
In XIV in the heart of the city a wooden castle with fortifications and towers was built, and it became a residence of three princes: Vladimir Olgerdovich, Olelko and Semyon, his son and grandson. In 1416 came difficult times for Kiev: the city was ravaged and plundered by Golden Horde troops and the only thing which left intact was castle. In 1430 after death of Vitovt Kiev became a base of Svydrygailo’s (who was Lithuanian prince) "Russian party". Kiev residents did not like authorities and so they actively participated in a struggle against the Lithuanian center. In 1436 Kyiv Governor Yursha crashed Lithuanian troops near city. After these events, the Olgerdovich family returned to power - at first Olelko, and then Semyon. Both princes had a great reputation and dynastic ties with Moscow and Tver princes. Under their rule a period of Kyiv development started. At this time Kiev became a potential center of Russian lands unification which were a part of the Grand Lithuanian princedom and after prince of Kiev Semyon Olelkovich death Lithuanian authorities transformed principality into province. In 1508 there was an attempt of rebellion by Michael Glinski, but it ended with failure.
In the middle of the XV century all-Russian Metropolis divided into Moscow and Lithuanian, and Kiev became a part of the last one. In the nineties of the XV century the city fell under attack of Crimean Khan Army and it was ravaged.
It was the time when foundation of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy was laid. Petro Mohyla opened an Academy in the town and later it merged with fraternal school.
OSTROV FESTIVAL on Trukhaniv Island is going to begin in Saturday the 7th and pass till Monday's evening the 9th of June.
An exciting week of family fun took place at the National Museum of Folk Architecture and Life of Ukraine in Pyrogovo from 17th to 25th of May. During the family festival "Capital Life" administration of the museum offered guests bright weekends to relax with family. In addition, everyone had the opportunity to vary the routine on cozy movie nights.
From 21th to 25th of May the third Kyiv International Short Film Festival was held at the cinema "Kinopanorama”.
On the 8th of June in National Museum of Folk Architecture and Life of Ukraine in Pyrogovo interesting event will take place. People who are fond of Ukrainian folk traditions and culture will get a lot of positive emotions. The celebration of the Holy Trinity will be hold there.