According to one legend,Kiev stands on the hills that blessed by St. Andrew during his path fr om the Crimea to Rome. And in the place where he put his cross, now there is one of the most beautiful city churches - St. Andrew's Church. And since that timeSt. Andrew is the saint patron of Kiev.
Built in 1754 by the favorite architecture of the Empress Elizabeth - Bartolomeo Rastrelli, the church rejoiced and encouraged Kiev inhabitants and visitors with unusual views. Ukrainian Baroque style fits the area the best way - thanks to air forms and sky-blue walls combined with green domes, the temple seemed to hover over the Old Kiev Hill.
The temple is notable not only for its architecture, but also for interior decoration, in particular unusual red iconostasis covered with gold leaf. St. Andrew's Church is well known to film fans as the place wh ere main characters of the movie "Chasing Two Hares" were going to marry. Near the church there is a bronze sculpture depicting ProniaProkopivna and Golohvastov, it is a favorite place of all tourists’ and married couples’selfies.
There is another legend about Kiev, connected with this church: untilstands the temple, Kievwill exist. This is one of the many stories of this kind, but perhaps the only one with a real basis. The church really stands on the precipice of a hill, the slopes of which are constantly tempted by groundwater and other sources; therefore the construction is under constant threat of collapse. In addition, there is an assumptionthat under the church there is a well - and this is an extra risk.
Today the building belongs to "Sophia Kievskaya" national park, while the Ukrainian Autocephalous Orthodox Church has an opportunity to provide liturgy and various church ceremonies there.